Letting a Book Go (post publication)


So your book is done, it’s published and the world now has access to it.  What do you do next?  In my opinion, boot up the computer and start typing your next book.  That doesn’t mean you do not pay any attention to what you just released. You obviously need to talk about it, publicize it, and let others know it exists.  At the same time, right before a book is released you are living and breathing that book constantly.  You go over final edits, approve covers and formatting, and start setting up a support network for it.  All you can think of is that book day in, and day out.

If you are an e-author however your bread and butter is new books.  You don’t have the same publication machine as the large publishers, so you cannot be content to rest a bit before kicking out another book by the next year.  Not to mention in most cases your efforts have been more procedural based and you probably were not writing much while the book was about to be published.  Now is the time to hit they keyboard and move on!

The biggest advice I believe though is to not get caught up in the sales aspect of the new book.  It seems it takes 12-36 hours for payments to process, and it can make a person go insane if they just keep hitting refresh waiting for the latest sales reports.  Instead channel that fidgety energy into launching into the next narrative.

Another issues I have noticed is no matter how long you have a book in the editing process you can always think of little things you want to change or alter once it is out.  Unless it is important (like typos, grammar, major errors) then it is best just to let it go.  I have known several people who have written some great things but never tried to  publish it, for they could never find the “final” form they want it to be in.  Instead they clamp both hands on their manuscript down firmly and never release as they keep trying to perfect it into eternity.  I personally don’t think there is such thing as perfection, and if a majority of the people editing/beta reading like the product, it is time to let the world have it.

Not to mention one of the joys of e-publishing is if you really do need to make changes, you can do so after publication.  I would not recommend this with large story points, and of course you should thoroughly remove all spelling/grammar issues before hand.  If you really want to tweak that one piece of dialogue though, or add one sentence to a description to clarify intent, you can do that.  Don’t do it right away though.  Come back a month after your book is released, and then re-read it.  If you still have those issues it won’t be because you just could not let go, and then it won’t be a bad thing to make those alterations.

Poll

This poll is not completely related to this post.  It’s also different for me, because for once I am not starting a new book (still working on the second Allmother’s Fire book) or in the final process of getting another book out.  I am curious of something though, and it definitely ties into publishing:

Where do you hear about new books?:

1)Old Fashioned word of mouth.  My friends tell me about a great book, and I then try it.

2)Internet Retailers: I go to Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc and look at their recommendations for me

3)Reviews: From magazines, Goodreads, newspapers, I read something proactively to hear about new good books

4)Social media: I see what options are out there on Facebook, Google +, Pinterest

5)Actively see out new books.  I don’t randomly read reviews, but I will google for books similar to ones I already like.

World Info will return with the next blog.  I need some catch up time, and will be writing a blog for Genre Underground soon that I will link to.

About mdkenning

E-book clockpunk fantasy author View all posts by mdkenning

4 responses to “Letting a Book Go (post publication)

  • Lady Rose

    For me its always been someone important to me (parents, friends, teachers, etc) have always handed me a book and said “read this” and if I do like it, I seek similar stuff. When we first met, almost 10 years ago, one of my first interactions with my now husband was him asking me to borrow a book, because he had seen me reading it between classes. After he read it, he offered a different author in the same genre saying I might like this better. This many years later, we have an entire room filled with books and new friends to share them with.

  • Andrew Toynbee

    This paticular post has appeared at a crucial time for me. I have just completed my Twelfth Daft of my WIP (first completed novel) and am considering ePublishing it, as after 130 rejections I have lost faith in Literary Agencies (or perhaps there’s a flaw in my work – I don’t know) and have decided to go it alone.
    Twelve Drafts is enough for me – the changes I have made each time have been progressively less each time, such that I am now simply ‘tweaking’ it.
    Time to let it fly the nest, I think and crack on with the sequel.
    Thanks for the guidance.

Leave a Reply

