“Quotation is a serviceable substitute for wit.” ~ Oscar Wilde


The above is my favorite quote of all times.  I was thinking about Quotes, and the power they have in writing. There are people who will forgive a multitude of plot sins if they get enough quotes out of a piece.  They do not even have to be Oscar Wilde level clever, just memorable.  I have started the next book, and here are some quotes (one each) from the  first four chapters that I like, but they are not really in the vein of “clever” as much as “memorable” for me.

“When Daisy was annoyed, she hit things. When Daisy was mad, she tried to dismember people.  Daisy was furious, so it was no surprise the deck was clear of all crewmembers.”

“Long forgotten memories flooded back into her consciousness as the two women who were choking each other screamed in the exact same pitch as they fled together into oblivion.”

“It seemed strange to want to shiver when he was located in the middle of a giant ball of fire.”

“He ignored the pain in his chest as he commanded his blood to work overtime and expel the musket ball back out of his body, and at his fencing partner.”

It’s a smaller post today but I am curious how Quotes affect you with books?

How do you feel about Quotes with books:

1) That’s one of the things that make a book stand out for me, how quotable it is. Very Important.

2) I remember more cool things done more than clever phrasings. Not that Important.

3)I don’t care what is being said but more how it is said. Important only if clever

As for current books updates:

The old large novel being re-edited is about1/3 of the way through its first editing pass (but not it’s last).  I am seriously contemplating just releasing it as 1 big novel after all. This will be the first time I go against my polls, but really re looking at it, I am not sure there is a great stopping place as it really was intended to be one novel, and I don’t want any changes like that to feel really artificial and forced.

The sequel to Fall of House Nemeni is pretty much moving long at it’s projected pace, so not much to say on that front other than it is moving as it should.

As for trying to revise Nemeni in time for the July 1st promotions, I am nervous about it, but we will see.  It has been started, and minus the third chapter as per feedback.

About mdkenning

E-book clockpunk fantasy author View all posts by mdkenning

5 responses to ““Quotation is a serviceable substitute for wit.” ~ Oscar Wilde

  • SuperCraftifFragilistic

    I really love quotes. I love quotable things. But I wouldn’t say they are super important to me, since I don’t remember verbatim things super well and some of my favorite books don’t have a lot of stand-out quotes in them – I think that’s because they’re written well enough that everything flows together really well. But I love how I can highlight quotes on my Kindle and save them for later. 🙂

  • amkenning

    I love quotes…but they aren’t the *most* important thing to me. My real answer would be somewhere between the first two options. Also I love cleverly worded things. Can I vote for all of them? 😀

  • Dan

    One of my favorite things about Terry Pratchett are all the quotes from his books. Clever turns of phrase, especially funny ones, always stick with me. EG:

    ‘And these are your reasons, my lord?’
    ‘Do you think I have others?’ said Lord Vetinari. ‘My motives, as ever, are entirely transparent.’
    Hughnon reflected that ‘entirely transparent’ meant either that you could see right through them or that you couldn’t see them at all.

  • Lady Rose

    Quotes are awesome. But Im not a quote person. Im more inclined to remember a scene that stood out. Or something some badass character did.

Leave a Reply

